PDA

View Full Version : Need advice.

gbautotech
01-28-2017, 01:35 PM
Hello guys and gals. I just purchased a 89 SC last Saturday. I drove it less then 15 miles and a rod bearing spun. I have the engine pulled and need advice. I want to build a strong engine but also want it to be a driver. What have some of you done? Is headers worth the buck? Can higher compression pistons be used? Thanks in advance. Just a side note I am a master certified automotive tech.

dthompson
01-28-2017, 02:06 PM
Welcome to the group fellow North Carolinian! Sounds like you bought a car that had blown head gaskets. There is a lot of information on here to dig into to help you along the way (a lot of junk too, but you have to filter that out). Before you talk of headers and such, you should figure out your budget and goals to make sure they match. What is strong? stock, 250whp, 350whp, 450whp, etc... what is a driver? around town, cross country, etc...

Unless you got tons of money to throw at this thing, id start looking at a stock rebuild. These cars are fun to drive stock. Some basics that I would do (since you got the motor out already) are to get the block and heads surfaced for use some MLS head gaskets and spring for some ARP head studs. Plenty of info on the forum about these items.

One thing to know about modifying the engines on these cars is the need for tuning to keep them alive. Everyone wants to make big power, but unless you know how to tell the computer what you have changed, its going to be an expensive and frustrating journey.

Also remember that it is a 28 year old car at this point. Its probably going to take some work to keep it road worthy. Lots of wear items may need replacing at this point.

Good Luck,
Derek

gbautotech
01-28-2017, 09:56 PM
I seen your car on YouTube. Im very impressed. I owned this same car (except cloth interior) but lost it in a divorce back in the early 2000s. So I do now how a factory SC runs.