Cooling System Ruined?

Willcall

35th Anniversary Edition I bought non-running two years ago. West Texas for its whole life, it has 135k on it and, as I understand, was parked in 1998? due to a no crank no start. After solving those problems getting the engine to start and idle, I decided to address the cooling system since the water pump was seized. This is what I found:
20200306_213944.jpg20200306_213949.jpg20200306_213952.jpg20200306_214001.jpg20200306_214003.jpg

So how bad is this? I have never encountered it this bad. I scrapped some of it away, but it appears to go all the way through the timing cover.

Is this because of head gasket in a can or is this just a product of it sitting for too long?
Will the engine and supercharger need to be completely disassembled in order to clean it out or can I use flush?
Or is this the end of the road for this motor?

Last edited:
Hey,

I have only ever done one head gasket change, and I had help, so I’m no expert. But that does look pretty serious. We’ll see what some of the more experienced SC experts say, but I wouldn’t give up on that motor just yet. Even if it turns out that repairing it would be too costly and/or labor intensive; I assure you that there are still some parts worth saving before you let it go.

Sadly, head gaskets are a weak point on these cars and they require a bit more maintenance than most to keep in good running shape. That said, there’s still a good amount of support for these cars. Hopefully you can fix it up and enjoy all the quirks and features that these cars have to offer.

-Rick Leuce

Interesting you got it running.

What does the oil look like on the dipstick? Did you do an oil change? What does the underside of the oil filler cap look like? What came out of the exhaust when you had it running? Smell? Steam? smoke....?

If you haven't done an oil change, I would at least drain that oil and see if it looks milky, gummy, etc., or just old and dirty.