propane

old bird

I have had lots of experience with propane as sole fuel. I have had no experience with it in conjunction with nitrous. Propane is used as a performance booster in diesels very effectively. Has been done with Ford powerstrokes.

It's biggest advantage is that it is a pressurized gas, that liquifies under about 150# pressure. when it is released to atmospheric pressure, it absorbs almost all of the energy that was required to compress it to a liquid. It absorbs this energy as heat. In other words, if the propane is released as a liquid into the intake air post supercharger, it will cool the mixture down significantly, like nitrous, and provide an additional high octane fuel scorce. It may well provide significant peformance enhancement, with no detrimental effects.

Old Bird.

hmm thoughts

My thoughts on shooting propane into a 4 cycle engine NOT setup for it is like pulling the pin on a grenade and handing it to your engine.
Sure Ford made 4.6's to run on propane or CNG to be more precise and there have been conversion kits for pickup trucks out for years but there HAS to be a reason this is not done widely or more often.
Reasons:
1: less power I know you mean to add it like N2O to add power and while it will cool the intake charge theres really no telling what it will do the SC or the engine other than make it run richer than normal. Thus Less power
2: Lousy reliability Propane is VERY fussy (just ask your furnace repairman) it doesn't like to flow in cold weather nor does it like it HOT(it vaporlocks). Like the 3 bears it likes it just right!
3: God help you if you got rearended!
4: Emission test points and your yearly checks
5: See #3
Just my thoughts, if you plan to do this get good insurance and keep it paid up!