Rebuilding an 3.8L SC engine for my SC, need advice please....

phils89sc

I recently purchased another complete engine for my 89 SC (my engine in the car now has 230K miles). I am going to rebuild this engine that I bought. I am no novice to engine rebuilding but have never done so on anything like the SC. I know that since the heads are aluminum, that they MUST be milled and use new head bolts (originals are torque to yield). Is there any other areas of concern or high failure points that should be addressed? I want this new motor to give me another 230K miles of reliable service, but me a little more stout than the factory engine.

Thanks

Phil stocker

When doing the main bearings, the rear main is .010 undersized. I almost forgot when I started to put mine back together. I'm in the process of rebuilding mine also. Is I find anything else I'll post it.

Well to do it so that it will guaranteed give you that much more mileage, I recommend several things.

1. I would get the block cleaned, bored, honed, and magnafluxed. Having 230K miles on the car I believe that the taper in the cylinder walls would be a bit, so it will need the boring to bring them back straight. Once they are bored then you will need to get new pistons.

2. I would get the crank ground, pistons, and connecting rods balanced. This will allow the engine to run better, no eccentric running problems that cause uneven wear.

3. I would port the exhaust manifolds. The exhaust that ford put stock on our cars is ridiculous.

I'm also going to be starting my engine rebuild when the weather gets a bit warmer. For now I'm just stock piling parts and dreams.

Good Luck!!

Use the ARP head studs and {be sure to use sealnt on the short
bolts. No more tork to yeild crap.

RECON

Have you considered RECON on the east coast.
They have rebuilt many SC engines....the going prices is about $1500....and the guys know them well....

Actually call Mancini's 215-727-4329.....