Supercharger boots/Vac

DGernmann

I have a 94 Sc, I am new to the supercharger thing. My boost gauge reads 0 when the car is idling, when I drive the gauge reads 20 Vac. Sometimes the boost gauge when I give it some gas reads about 10-12, but a little gas gives me about 5-8 of boost. Is this right? The car feels fast but not too fast....

Thanks for all the help!

Our superchargers have a bypass valve that allows the SC load on the engine to be reduced when it's just not needed. The bypass valve runs some of the intake air back through the supercharger to keep it from having to build up when power is called for.

So when you don't have your foot into the gas, the engine acts like a normally aspirated vehicle by running at vacuum (less than zero on the boost gauge) when just cruisng around.

you should be below zero at idle as well, but not a smuch as when you are crusing faster. But when you crack the throttle, the bypass valve closes and the boost starts to build. WOT should see 12-15psi depending on the exhaust on the car. Other throttle positions will see something less, but should be greater than zero if accelerating.

As far as feeling of quickness. high boost doesn't mean high power. On a fairly stock car it is often a sign of restricted exhaust. Also keep in mind that it takes considerable additional HP to make our cars feel "quick". They can feel Fast easy, but "Quick" implies light on their feet. At around 2 tons, our cars take serious HP to feel "quick". If they ever really do.

I definitely defer to mike 8675 on the SC subject ..but 5 to 8 lbs with little throttle? and 10 to 12 with "some gas" My exhaust is open and it's an AOD but i have to try harder than that to get my car into boost and keep slammin to climb into the 10-12 range !!!
Boost guage sounds wonky ,but i have not driven a 5 spd either!
Just my .02
Mike??

i have a 5 speed and i too have to try really hard just to get to the 12 ibs of boost, something is up with your gauge or sensor