Will airbags stop tires from rubbing ?

David Neibert

SCCoA Admin
I installed a set of H&R springs about a year ago. It rode a little low in the rear and rubbed the tires when trunk was loaded or people were in the back seat. I added some rubber spring spacers on the rear to provide about 1/2" inch of lift.

Now it's a year later and the springs have settled a little and I'm getting some tire rub going over dips in the road with the trunk loaded. Will adding air bags to the rear springs prevent this ?

David

Hi Dave, remember me from Steigemeier's? Well anyway, I've used the Airlift Airbags in the rear of a few of my cars (including the Splitport Tbird I had at Steigemeier's) and I'm very pleased with them. I've yet to pop one, I'm knocking on wood as I type this, and I run 40-45 lbs in the bags (which are rated for 25 lbs). I've been using them for about 3 years now. With them filled to 40 lbs, they raise the car about an inch to two inches and firm up the rear quite a bit. But what's really great about them is that there is no set rate, you can adjust them to whatever pressure you like. So to answer your question, yes they should reduce tire rub quite a bit if not eliminate it altogether. If you're going to get a set, Summit sells them for about $65. I have an extra set of brand new bags for $25, but I don't know if I have the hose to hook them up (I might, but I'd have to look around). You could probably buy all the parts you need to install them (hose, hose clamps, schraeder valves) at Autozone for under $10. Let me know if you want them.