Cam? Tearing her down anyway Any other Mods?

Edman1000

Got to do the head gaskets anyway, so I was figuring maybe I'll throw a cam in 'er. Does anyone know of a good cam? Prices? Any other mods I can do when she's torn down

as for a cam, you might want to check out dr. fred, i hear his are very good. another thing that would be a good idea is to port&polish the heads or get new, higher flowing heads. that's a good start. anyone have anything else to add?

You might also want to add headers or at least port your exhaust manifolds. If you are looking for some more power then I would deffinitly have your heads ported and get some roller rockers. You could also have your intake manifold port matched to your heads. Oh, and replace your water pump why you have every thing apart. Just some places to start.

Nick

head-ers

IS there a set of headers that will bolt right into place so no mods need to be done to the stock exhaust? (yet)

I am new to this stuff myself, but from what I have learned about these cars you should be doing the exhaust at the same time you stuff that cam in their. Otherwise you might be pulling those heads again real soon. I am rebuilding my engine with a few mods and also have the stock exhaust. I will be going with the ported manifolds for now. Still I will be getting my car to the exhaust shop (or installing the SCP system) soon after I get my engine running again. Good luck.

Rick

Dr. Fred and Steigemeyer also offer head and cam packages as well as EEC tuning. Fred had some pretty good rates last time I checked.

camshafts

Weazer is right. I sure dont know everything there is to know about these cars but, Exhaust is critical If you start to try and build power. If you dont do something to improve the exhaust you will blow another head gasket. Tim

I know, I know