Transform cougar into SUPERCOUGAR need help

93cougar3.8

Ok first of all i have no experience whatsoever about supercharging engines but i looked up the supers on ebay and they came with throttle body waste gate intake pretty much everything i think i need . Now are intercoolers necesity or just mods? If put into stock 3.8 cougar am i gonna hafta find a supercoupe computer? Will i hafta get underdrive pulleys or a differnt pulley setup because of the belt needed for supercharger? and anything else that would have to be altered in the process. As you can tell im lost and i need some guidance.:confused:

You will need to fully rebuild your bottom end first, change your intake manifold, injectors, fuel pump, etc, ect, ect. You'd be time and money ahead to just find an '89 or '90 XR7.

Thomas

Read the FAQ section about what Ford changed on the SC motors from the regular 3.8's. As Thomas stated you will need to rebuild the bottom end and use an SC crank. The pistons on the SC also yield a lower compression ratio. There are numerous other little changes that you won't notice until you go to put things back together as well (i.e. throttle cables are different, A/C compressor and mounting bracket are different, A/C condenser is different, alternator is different, you will need an upgraded trans and rear end, I could go on). Your best bet, if you are serious, is to find a wrecked SC or XR7 and swap everything over to your car. Or as Thomas stated, it would be a lot easier to just buy an SC or 89-90 XR7. Trust me there is a lot of work involved in this swap, but it is doable. I've done about 90% of the research and have almost all of the parts to do it, but haven't bothered with it yet until I can find a suitable car.

Don't do it man!