Gutting out cats?

syphon

Hey everyone,

I'm looking at helping out my exhaust, but I'm pretty low on money.

I know of some people that just cut off the mufflers and end it after the resonator... but I was wondering what would happen if I were to just gut my cats out.

I had a friend with an older t-bird (87 I think) who had problems so he ended up gutting the cat out and it ran fine. I know it won't pass emissions (there are certain areas out here I can register my car where I wont have to do emissions testing).

Is this harmful in any way? beneficial in any way? what do you guys think?

IT wouldnt cost much to remove the cats,and add a peice of tube to
take the place of the cats. that way you can slip them back on if need be.
two peice pipe 4 clamps,maybe cost you $10.00 to $15.00.

The cats are that easy to remove? I have no exhaust experience, so I had no idea they could just be unbolted. I thought they were welded on.

So what's the stock diamter, 2"? 2.5"? Exactly how long would I need? This idea seems more appealing now...

Most are. you can buy a cutter made to cut exhaust pipe at auto zone
or a store like them what ever you have in your area,get the clamps
& pipe at the same time.JC WHITNEY would have every thing you need
and the cheapest & you can order from home