PDA

View Full Version : Could the EEC from a 91/auto work for an 89 auto?



CaifanSC
03-02-2003, 08:18 PM
I want to try and replace the EEC on my 89 auto to see if it 'revives', i have access to a computer from a 91 auto...will this work for my 89? gracias

93 Mark VIII
03-03-2003, 12:15 AM
I believe after 90 they changed the pinouts, so no.

Brian

BlackbirdSC
03-03-2003, 01:15 AM
Brian's correct, they are different.

I had a '90 5 spd and tried it's EEC in my '91. It started but ran like it was on 4 cylinders. I didn't try and run it more than 10 seconds, but it wasn't pretty.

You need an 89 or 90 unit.