Tranny drop and syncro questions

derekhay316

Hey guys. Just a few questions here:
MY SC has been out of commission for about 3 months now because of stripped threads on the slave cylinder so I need to drop the 5 speed and put in a new slave. Anyway my tranny has been grinding 2nd and 3rd in the summer (needs new syncros i guess eh?).

So what i'd like to know is will the tranny drop be that hard (my friend is gunna help me, he has dropped his tranny on his '86 mustang twice)???. We don't have a lift or anything, just jack stands and what not and i've never done this before.

Also if i took the removed tranny to a shop in town, how much am i looking at for parts and labor to put new syncros in?

Is there any clutch rebuild kits that include the slave cylinder? If so where and how much?

Thanks a lot for your help guys. You've been very helpful in the past.

New slaves are available from Ford and include a new throw out bearing, hwoever move on this fast there is only a very few left anf it is going end of life like everything else for our cars. Aftermaket guys do carry these as well.

http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=18838

http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=19023

Please read the above links on the Ontario Canada chapter of the SCCOA. I hate to burst you rballon but this is reality because I am going through this pain as we speak.

Dropping the trans will be a lot harder than in a mustang. For the t-bird you need to remove your whole exhaust behind the manifolds and lower your gas tank before you can get the driveshaft out of the way to drop the trans. It isn't that hard, but it might be a little cramped trying to work under there without a lift. Even still you should be able to drop the trans in a few hours.