Taurus SHO vs. SC????

got-sc?

hey i have a question for u guys why is a stock SHO faster than a stock SC?? can u put an sho engine inside an SC??

why the hell would you put a SHO motor in an SC it has no torque. Its a high revving yamaha motor. It makes slightly more hp stock but has less torque. The SHO vs. SC race is really up to the driver. I've lost to a stock 91 SHO in my 5-speed and beat its *** with my auto go figure. It was all about who got the better launch.

The older ones are supposed to be the fastest, before they came with automatics, IIRC. Still, wrong wheel drive. You can pick them up real cheap. Wouldn't mind having one for my wife.

dohc v6 i think

Did not know they had a supercharged version. I like the body of the V6's better than the later ones.

I'm not experienced to answer that right, but I did consider one before settling on buying the SC. The only Taurus we've had was a '97, "non-SHO". Totally different animal. What I've heard is that they are very good cars, but you don't want to have any problems with that Yamaha engine. Technical and costly to repair. Solid though. The older ones with the 6 are much faster than the later ones with the V8. Could swear I've heard talk about being prone to clutch problems? Wish I could remember the changeover year, 92? Same similar body style, but some other things changed. Weight and maybe transmission etc. Then the big changeover in '97 that went to the V8 and newer body style. Nicer car, but not as powerful.
They pop up on Ebay with some very reasonable prices. There was a '98 with 60k miles for 7,000 in perfect shape. The older ones are also very good buys.
Some good info sites:

http://www.shoforum.com/cgi-bin/Ultimatebb.cgi Good forum

http://www.shotimes.com/php-bin/ Lots of FAQ type info

HTH. They really are cool cars.

Sorry I could have sworn that I saw an early model 1989 Ford Tarus SHO with the Supercoupe engine in it.