Pulley takes a dive..Need some advice.

Tryin2keepHer

Hey Guys,

I'm a serious rookie on the SCCOA site. I just had a major glitch yesterday, and i figured this would be the best place to go and get some good advice.

I have a 1990 5 spd. SC. She runs pretty good for having just over 138,000 miles. I've had moderate work done to keep the engine alive, but yesterday, one of those wierd engine breaks happened. As I was driving on a local highway, the lower main belt pulley just snapped right off the engine! This is the main belt pulley closest to the ground. As a flat bed came to the rescue , we noticed that the bolt that holds the pulley had completely snapped in half! The threaded part of the bolt is still in it's mounted position in the engine, so it looks like the mechanics are going to have to back that part out before re-installing the pulley. Am I looking at a possible re-financing of my home to get this problem fixed? I love my SC..She's sweet, but problems like this have me wondering how much longer I can hold on to her.
ANY suggestions or advice would be appreciated.
Thanks
DJ

maybe 5-700US complete at a shop.

remove rad fan, maybe rad also

remove old seal and pry out whats left of the balancer(looks like a collar)

drill old bolt

ez out old bolt

install new crank seal

install new balancer preferably(with old balance pins transfered)

buy late model mustang 3.8 crank bolt and washer

one option is to get the upgraded BHJ balancer for about 350-400US.

Im sure someone will post more details
As long as someone doesnt drill out the crank threads it'll be fine:D

I've done this in 20 minutes on a hoist the first time, I've heard some take several hours...well and some end up messing the crank. Always have new sharp drill bits and make sure its perfectly centered with a center punch before drilling.ALWAYS make a "pilot" hole, I used about 4? different sizes going up to just over 1/4"(depends)

Hey man, (laughing) ..thanks for the advice..Cool name!