Pumpkin Removal?

layinthesmack31

Hey guys, i was wondering how hard it is to remove the pumpkin so that i can bring it some place to have my gears put in and then how hard is it to put back togather. The reason for this is because i have my 3.73 gears mounted on a trac lok unit and it just needs to be put in and i went to have it done today and i was quoted about 180 bucks but then when i took the car there they said oh thats a different rear end and said that it would be around 560 bucks. i about crapped my pants. it went from 180 to 560 i thought that was crazy haha. but there is a guy around here that specializes in the differentials and i just need to bring the pumpkin to him and he will do it for 200. so i just need to know is it really hard to get the halfshafts out and put back in? I do have a haynes manual so i could follow that but i just wondered what i might be looking at since i have never done it before. And i also have no access to a lift so it would have to be all done from lying on the ground. Please any info would greatly be appreciated. I really had my hopes up today and they got shattered :(. Thanks
Matt

Re: Pumpkin removal

There are several threads on disassembling the rear suspension re: lowering springs and also some on stiffening the rear suspension. Also check MN12Performance for how-to s.
George Clarke aka the SonySC@hotmail.com