PDA

View Full Version : Cruise Control not Cruisin!



Edman1000
04-08-2003, 10:32 AM
Anybody got any ideas what/where to check? I'm clueless.

Mike8675309
04-08-2003, 11:23 AM
Are your brake lights working? If their not, Cruise won't work as it uses that circuit to determine if brakes are pressed.

Is the horn working? It appears the Horn circuit is also involved in the cruise.

The servo is behind the driver's side fender. Is there any reason to think it was damaged? Try and track down the cable that comes out of it and make sure it is still connected to the throttle body.

Check fuses.

sizemoremk
04-08-2003, 12:11 PM
My cruise works, but takes several seconds of coasting down a few MPH, then finally kicks in and speeds back up....any ideas on this one too???

I'm kinda uypset about the FORD SHOP MANUAL....it doesn't have much besides running their specialized test equipment, and going off their codes...

Edman1000
04-08-2003, 02:52 PM
Brake lights work....
Horn blows...(wife don't)....

No damage to the servo, cable's on....


Any checks/tests I can perform?

Mike8675309
04-08-2003, 11:07 PM
There is a tech note

SPEED CONTROL - "TRICKS OF THE TRADE"
Article No. 90-25-12FORD: 1986-91 CROWN VICTORIA, ESCORT, MUSTANG, TAURUS, TEMPO, THUNDERBIRD 1990-92 PROBE


But it is way complex. If you have access to the Ford Technotes, or a dealer you can see if they can copy for you.

A couple items:

Speed Control inoperative but Code 11 appears after self test.

Check the voltage at Pin 30 (NDS) of the EEC-IV 60 pin connector. The voltage should be less than 1 volt with the gear select in Park or Neutral and should be great than 5.5 volts in Drive or Over Drive. A voltage less than 3.5 volts in D or OD will result in speed control inoperative. The cause can be a defective NDS switch, a pinched wire producing a partial short from Pin 30 to ground, or an improperly installed aftermarket system which has been connected to the NDS circuit.

Intermittent speed control operation, with possible VIP codes 81, 82 KOEO, and code 36 KOER.
Check for a pinched - 14290 - wiring harness between the upper radiator tank and the LH vertical radiator support.

Michael Mattix
04-09-2003, 08:45 AM
I had a cruise control system on a non-Ford product that was not working and after going to a junkyard and getting a cruise control servo valve it not working after I put it in, I found out that the wiring harness at the back of the servo had one of the five wires loose. So I "fabricated" a fix with some wire that I had laying around and that fixed it. I took the junkyard unit back and got charged 9 buck to "Reshelve" the part. All in all, this was after I took it to the dealer and they said that the servo valve was bad and the total bill to get me a rebuilt servo valve was over $200.00! I hope this helps.

Mike

James Kanteraki
04-09-2003, 04:54 PM
look along the break pedal. there is a little plastic switch that gets pushed in. when the brake pedal is not pressed. but it has an adjustment. i think it is supposed to be adjusted so that when the pedal is pushed in about 1/8 inch, the switch gets tripped. This is a vacuum switch so check for adjustment and also check the line that goes to it. I think the plastic part of the switch on my car was yellow or something like that. I have 92 bird.

thanks for the info on the pin testing.

jim

1BADSC
04-09-2003, 05:10 PM
my brake light switch on my 89 bird has no vaccum going to it, and there is no way to adjust it. It is a a 10 dollar part that is easy to fix. It is just a position switch. Pedal goes down switch gets pushed in and brake lights come on.

XR7
04-09-2003, 05:33 PM
I had a 1994 Cougar, XR-7 with the V-8,

Problem I was experiencing.. an never fixed.. was that once the Cruise was set..

The car would speed up doing down hill.. and slowdown going up hill...

Then on a level straight away.. the car would speed up and slow down about 5-8 mph.. just kept doing that.. got rather annoying.. so I stopped using the cruise...

Was kinda like stepping on the Gas and letting off constantly..

though sometimes it would work.. till ya hit a bump.. then it would start the speed up... slowdown game again...

I was always curious what was causing that...

jgraham
04-09-2003, 09:41 PM
I just broke mine the other day just behind the mounting bracket white plastic inner core.

Bigme574
04-09-2003, 09:47 PM
If you're speed sensor is off, it will stop your cruise from working. I havent checked the details of all of the other posts, they may have already told you to check this, but whek the speed sensor and the speed sensor gear. My friends cruise didnt work and his speedo was slightly chopy. We replaced the speedo sensor and the speedo gear on the end of the sensor that goes in to the tranny, and that fixed his cruise problem. Just an idea that may have been overlooked.

Aaron