to the serious detailers...

ChrisPearl95

I am fairly new to the colder climate where I live, therefore I drove my SC in the winter this year. I am going to put a couple of coats of wax on this weekend. One light coat of turtle wax color match polish....then a good coat of Meguirs liquid gold.

The question is....can I put on the wax in the evening, leave it on overnight, and remove the next morning safely? Does it help to leave it on for a longer period of time like that?

Thanks,

Chris:confused:

You're just inviting dust, pollen etc to collect/stick to the dried wax. You'll get swirls like crazy when you remove and buff. Put it on, let it dry and take it off as soon as possible. A good wax will bond and be done, if it takes a long time to dry, you put too much on. Better to put on several paper thin coats that can dry fast. Or wait for warmer weather.

Check out www.autopia.com for all the detailing info you'll ever need.

HTH

Actually, that website will tell me all I ever wanted to know about Dental Practice Management software! ;) Do they have a new web address?

I would not use Turtle Wax but that is just me. Use a nice coat of Meguiars No. 2 polish and then the number 3 wax. Works very well. I do not recomend their Gold Class Paste Wax. If you want to use the Gold Class then use their Gold Class Liquid. It is much easier to use.

Re: Hi Chris

thundersc said:
Back when I had the '67 Camaro show car a Meguiars Product salesman came to a club meeting. He said use the following steps;
1) wash car
2) remove old wax may take 2-4 times

Use Dawn dishwashing soap when washing and the old wax will be removed in nothing flat.

Never use Dawn dishwashing soap if you don't intend to re-wax the car.

Dawn soap actually works very well for removing wax. It is even reccomended by Ziano Bros. (In my opinion, the best polish ever!)

Thomas

If you want an amazing finish, be prepared to spend some time. I did last year and WOW, I loved it.