PDA

View Full Version : Anybody in Colorado?? Need help...

95scgirl
04-12-2003, 02:38 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm new to your message board, so first I just wanna say "hi". My name is Brittany, and I have a 1995 Thunderbird SC. Its red with a beige/tan leather interior. I just bought the car a few weeks ago and I really like it. It only has 64,000 miles and its in really nice shape.

The first few weeks the car ran great, but then something happened.. I took it to the ford dealership here and they said it is a "bad headgasket" (does this sound right??) and that its gonna be $2,300 to fix. Now, I'm not a rocket scientist, but that sounds like a lot of money for a stupid gasket.. I'm a student and don't have that kind of money, especially since I just financed the car.

Would there possibly be ANY of you guys in the Denver/Boulder area that knows how to work on these cars?? I was thinking maybe if someone could help me I could even do it myself?? I'm NOT afraid of braking a nail or anything :D

I don't have a dad, or any brothers to help me so I'm on my own.

I've changed oil before, but thats about it. Plus I think it would be kind of nice to say I fixed it myself.

How much would it cost if I did it myself in just parts??

Is there any local "club" in colorado that goes racing or anything???

I saw an older black sc the other day with chrome wheels of some sort in Westminster, and I think it was a stickshift???? I didn't know they made these cars in a stickshift???

Well thanks in advance for any help!!!

Brittany ;)

Digitalchaos
04-12-2003, 02:49 PM
Hello. First, to ensure the headgaskets have failed, check your oil & coolant. The coolant will probably have black streaks, and the oil will look like coffee possibly foam. Do not drive or run the engine with bad headgaskets, as coolant mixing with oil is bad for the engine.