Best/Cost Effective Engine Code reader?

code reader

The most cost effective code reader is to go to autozone and let them download the codes and then they print out the diagnosis for you. Free.

Fred, the cheapest code reader I suppose is a test light or voltmeter and this procedure, http://www.35ththunderbirdregistry.org/EECSelfTest.htm .

I have one of those SunPro code scanners that is about the size of a cigarette pack. I keep it in the spare tire area of my 35th so it's handy. I have had it a while, bought it from Autozone years ago, so I don't know what they cost now. Here is what they look like.
FordSunProScanner.gif

Hope this helps some.

I don't know how cost effective this is....

But I bought an AUTOXRAY, just based on what some members on the boards have said about it. I do like it. I can't even say I have a lot of experience with it. (Thank GOD, for obvious reasons). You can clear codes, which I like, but for 200 bux, I am sure there are other alternatives.

Good luck

Skip

I have a used OTC 2000 scanner that would work just fine for you. Will also check ABS and ARC. This is a programmed system that leads you through step by step how to run the tests like KOER and KOEO as well as the ARC and ABS tests. All alphanumeric...no counting beeps and LED flashes. Contact me privately if interested. Less than 100 bucks + S & H. Works on other brands of cars as well up to 91 with the programing cartridge I have for it.

DuffyF56@stargate.net

My friend has the same one that tbirdsc35th shows, the black and yellow SunPro. Got it from Wal-Mart for $15 I think. It successfully diagnosed all 10,516 problems he had with his car in the few years he owned it (ok, not quite that many but it felt like it). Now that I have an SC looks like I'm gonna need one. I would recommend these, they work great and are very cheap.

Matt