Embarrasing noise from my sc

MtDewd

I've been trying to get to the bottom of this noise coming from my supercharger. It knocks like a plastic screwdriver handle in a blender on low. I'm very proud of the sound my exhaust makes. The motor sounds like a V8 and has lots of lope, but now I'm embarrased to drive it anywhere because of this knocking noise in the supercharger. It is very noticable inside and out of the car.

I took the sc belt off and it goes away. When I turn the pully back and forth there is a little play in it. The play is about 3/16 of an inch and when I do it fast I can hear that that's where the rattle/knock is coming from. What do I need to do to make it go away? It was just magnaported and rebuilt about 1000 miles ago. It knocked before the rebuild also.

I am no expert on superchargers but...

It would sound to me like your rebuild didn't include checking the gear drives for the lobes!! Too much play indicated worn out gears in the SC. I could be wrong, but my old supercharger off my 89 SC did the same thing. Are your running an O.D. pulley? Mine had a 10% OD pulley and I didn't know about it till I changed the supercharger a few days ago, I guess that would expain the 15 psi of boost I was making huh?

Anyway, you might want to check with the rebuilder and ask them why they allowed that "knock" in the SC to go unchecked? Also ask them if they ever checked, or if there is a measurement for wear on those gears in the SC.

Good luck, tell us how it works out.

Phil Stocker

I think it's just a worn out or broken coupler, which is the part that connects the snout shaft to the rotor and gearset. The older ones had a spring loaded style to absorb some of the pressure pulses. When the spring on the coupler breaks it causes an anoying rattle. Once the supercharger is under a load the noise should stop.

I'm not sure where to buy a new one, maybe Magnum Powers.

David

SC Vacuum Line.........CHECK IT!