Can gear oil be used rather than ATF in Man Trans?

mduralia

Just curious. This is the only vehicle I have ever owned that used ATF rather than 75W-90 or something similar in the transmission. My tranny gets notchy as it warms up and I just wondered if using higher viscocity lubricant would help.

I appreciate any comments.

Thanks.

ATF vs 90w

I'm on the opposite end of this spectrum. My tranny is full of 90w and has been for some time as I understand it. I'm not a pro at this so I can just tell you that I'm having lots of trouble shifting the car when it's at a stand-still. Looking into if the 90w is the problem.
My Mechanic tells me that (most) aluminum trans use ATF rather than gearlube. Not sure of the reason.

The gear oil is too thick, and can cause stiff shifting issues and grinds on speed shifting. The recomended is Dexron III and 4 oz. of Ford Friction Modifier or TransX differential addative. It is the Same thing according to Ford.

I'm running synthetic 75W-90W with friction modifyer (limited slip additive) in mine with good results. Lots of factory publications spec gear lube when used in climates that average above 90* F. I live in Texas and my engine makes a ton of torque. That and I will drive the hell out of it when I feel like it. I've read posts over the years of others who claimed shifting improved with gear lube so I gave it a try. So far so good, it shifts better than my last tranny did.

Vernon

I ran 90W in mine for years not knowing any better, and it seemed fine to me. It may be a little slower if you are into speed shifting, but otherwise I found no difficulties in any climates. (I lived in Canada originally). Anyway, it won't hurt to try.

On another note, if you are having trouble getting into gears, chances are you have issues with either syncro's or clutch engagement or both.