Dash Lights Still Not Working

92SCDoughboy

Ok, a while back i had made a post that my dash lights were not working, and I thought it might have been the dimmer switch. So I changed it, it didn;t work.

I check the fuse and it was burnt, so of course i changed that too, the lights worked for a bout 15seconds, then out, fuse was burnt, the fuse kept going out everytime. So i figured maybe crimped wire or frayed, but no. Something is shorting this fuse out, but for the life of me I cannot figure it out.

Could the cluster part itself have a short in it, i thought maybe some part of it was touching metal behind for some reason, but i civered the metak wit h a pplastic paint and it still doesn;t work.

Does anyone else have any ideas, before I get fed up and take it to FORD, cause I have been driving with no dash lights for a good 5 months, and its friggin annoying

thx in advance

LOL, I feel your pain, got the same problem myself, although not as severe, mine lasts for a while and then randomly blows. The fuse blew one night, then I replaced it, lasted 2 weeks, blew again, lasted one day and blew again, and now tonight it didn't blow... so I better investigate what the problem is but in the meantime, I Got a supply of fuses ;)

Sorry to go of your topic, but its related anyway good luck , let me know if you find anything, might be the same with mine, just not as severe.

First, get one of those battery powered "book" lights. It can clip to the dash and work temporarily.

Then you need to get out an ohm meter and start testing for shorts. It's going to likely be quite a pain. I'd start by checking all of the switches that are lit. Especially ones that may draw high currents like the defrost switch, lighter. The things that move, like the mirror lights. Then check wires under the dash close to the pedals. Something has likely rubbed through. you can start probing back from the fuse block, checking at connections for low resistance values.