SC Engine Compatibility

IAMBJC

Good Evening everybody,

I have a 1989 SC with a blown engine. A friend of mine has a 1991 SC with a blown tranny. He is going to give me his 1991 for the engine (I want the 89 instead of the 91). My question is if there is anything I need to worry about when swapping out my 89 engine for the 91 engine, and if it is even possible to replace my 89 engine with his 91 engine.

I have never done this before so ANY and ALL information you can provide would be GREATLY appreciated.

1) Is it possible to replace the 1989 engine with the 1991 engine?
2) What is different between the two if anything?
3) Is there anything in particular I need to be careful about when doing this?
4) Are the sensors, computers, etc., the same or do I need to pirate from one engine/car to the other?

Please send me e-mail if you don't mind answering my questions. My e-mail is IAMBJC@Hotmail.com

Thank you for your time.

Swap

I did the same swap 6 years ago and this is what I remember:

You'll need to use the engine harness from the '89 because the '91 harness main plug is different and there may be no connector/wiring for the PFE sensor for the EGR valve.

If both have the same trans, no problem though you might want to replace the pilot bearing for the M5R2, if applicable and you'll have to pull the bearing if the donor engine is from a manual car and yours is an auto. (Don't ask how I figured that one out!).

The '91 may not have an EGR valve, if not, use the one from the '89. Be careful not to break the tube! Get a new piece of silicone hose for the EGR tube to PFE connection (don't get it from Ford!)

Replace your motor mounts as it won't get any easier than at this time. Same goes for the plugs, heater hoses....

Other than that, just take your time, keeps parts and fasteners organized and perhaps take some reference photos or video if you have the equipment before you take yours out.

You should be able to do it over a weekend w/o any rush, good luck!