255/45/17+1.5 drop+98 Cobra Rims=...

XxSlowpokexX

It equals tire rub!!!!...Apparently the offset of the late model stang wont allow it..In the rear there seems to be plenty of room to tuck the rims in more..Anmyway thought Id pass the word around..245/45/17 fit well

What brand tires do you have? I've been running that exact combo for four years now using Nitto 555's.

Last edited:
Damon Slowpoke Baumann said:
1.5 inch drop??....with 98 cobra rims with stang bolt pattern..Its kumhos..>maybe there cut different?

Since May 99......

H&R Springs, never actually measured the drop.... Nitto's are said to run a bit narrow.

SC5.jpg

What is the exact measurement on that rim including backspacing?

also, that IS the mustang pattern?

Thanks!

ponysc said:
What is the exact measurement on that rim including backspacing?

also, that IS the mustang pattern?

Thanks!

17x8, 5.72" BS. Mine came off my 98 Cobra, so yeah, they're 5 on a 4 1/2" bolt circle :D :D

So you do have the same identical setup I have..Perhaps my car is a tad lower..But I bet you the tires are much wider..Compared to the BFG's I had..taller and wider..Ill roll the rear lips and live with it.

I was running 18x9 cobra r's with 285/35-18 in the rear and 265/35-18 in the front, i had to really tuck and roll the rear quarter panels lips as i also had a 1.5 drop, they were almost rubbing but it looked bad a$$ and handled like a go-kart. I've got pictures if you guys wanna see.