overheat in the Arizona desert

ruswin

I've been driving a 93 5-speed around Phoenix since 1995 with relatively no overheating problems. Recently I bought a 95 auto for my wife. On the hotter days at highway speeds the car is definately getting above "norm". (Notably higher rpm's as well 85mph in the 5-speed = 2100 / auto = 2500+) When I stop the car, air is bubbling back into the overflow causing a low coolant condition upon start-up. I have read a couple threads about the importance of the plastic air dam. Tha car I bought has almost no airdam left (worn down?) I just replaced the radiator cap but I still would like to find out what else can be done to keep a stock SC cold when the heats above 100'.

SCCOA... there is a god!

When was the coolant last changed, and has it had regular maintainance? If its been a while, do so again.

The airdam is said to make a significant difference in cooling, but I think there is more to your problem.

First, ensure that there is enough coolant in the resevoir. If it is boiling over, this is a sign of a pressure leak allowing the coolant to boil at engine temperature. The light is based on a sensor which detects level of coolant.

Next, make sure your thermostat is working correctly and your low & high speed fans are working. There is 1 fan in the '93, and 2 in the '94.

In your climate, it may also be beneficial to add a solution with an increased quanity of water, such as perhaps 60/40 (water coolant). Water has a greater heat transfer rate than coolant. Just be aware not to use too much, as coolant raises boiling temperature & prevents corrosion.

There are additives which increase cooling available, such as Redline water wetter. And as TbirdSCFan said, running the A/C will engauge the low speed fan, which is useful for low speeds when the intercooler doesn't have a chance to work.