questions about BHJ balancer

mikey

Soon I will be purchasing a BHJ balancer but I had a few questions about it!!

Will it come with the crank pulley, or do I need to buy another specially for the BHJ, or will the stock one do fine? I am aware that the pulley itself has to be balanced on the BHJ!

Also I would like to change the crank sensor at the same time, will the stock one work with the BHJ, or is there a better one available on the market, or should i not bother changing it at all, for it seems to work fine??

Does anyone have good ideas on how to get the rest of my old balancer off of the crank shaft(behind the timing cover) w/o removing the cover itself? And is easy out the best way to remove the rest of the bolt that is broke inside the crankshaft, i've never used it(easy out) before though, I was told to be very very careful because it is denser than a drill bit, so if u screw it up, then your really in a big mess???

Your thoughts and comments are greatly appreciated, and thanks to all in advanced!!!:D

You can use the stock pulley or get a set of underdrives. I used the stocker for a while before I received my set of ASP's. You will want to remove the sensor ring (the thing on the back of the old balancer that has the three "teeth") and transfer it to the BHJ. Be sure to get the sensor ring lined up on the new balancer to match how it was on the old one. Lay out both balancers side by side and mark the BHJ and the ring for positioning. I used the key-slot as a reference point.
If you have any doubts about the crank sensor, now is the time to change it. Fortunately, there are a couple of manufacturers out there making them, so inquire at your favorite parts house. You will need a 5.5mm socket or nut driver to get the tiny mounting bolts out, and a matchbook cover to set the proper alignment gap (.0030").