New Member! Please help w/conversion!

VETTETEK

I have just aquired a 1989 XR7 that we are parting out (see for sale section), and were taking the drivetrain and putting it into a standard 3.8 aod 1990 t bird. the Cougars drivetrain is a 3.8 w/screw, and a 5 speed. Since I am a newbie to this, is there anyone out there who already has done the swap, and has any advice?
Let me know!
Thanks,
Jeff

www.fastassdatsun.com

guys.....?????
Hello?????
Uh....32 views, and not 1 reply...I really need the info! Someone please help a newbie?!
thanks,
Jeff:rolleyes:

Not gonna work. Most of the people here know that already. Might as well sell the whole thing and buy an SC or XR7 that is worth keeping.

HMMM....not gonna work???
How so? Im taking a complete drivetrain from a 3.8 litre vehicle out and replacing it with ANOTHER 3.8 litre drivetrain. I also have ALL the necessary wiring, modules, and ect to make this happen.
Id just like to know what makes this not possible...and why...
thanks

Well,

It will work, but maybe what XR7 Dave is saying is that it will take far too much labor and time to make it truly worth it. There are going to be major differences in the wiring, and that will probably be the hardest part. But I guess if you have you mind really set on it and nothing but time to burn, I say go for it!!

Have fun,

Phil

P.S. Another thing that needs to be considered is the rear differential. The stock n/a 3.8L will probably not be able to handle the HP and Torque of the SC V-6 and you should swap out the rear end for the 8.8 from the XR7

Thanks Phil,
We have this complete xr7 we got from the junk yard that was junked with minimal damage. No title though. SO were going to swap over most everything. like the wiring, dash, console, engine , trans, and rear diff. I was just curious if anyone else undertook a project like this before, andwhat to expect.
thanks,
Jeff:D

like the wiring, dash, console, engine , trans, and rear diff.