PDA

View Full Version : Air charger Temp



blksc
07-16-2003, 12:40 PM
I have a 94 and im trying to trouble shoot a reasonable good 14.9 1/4mile e.t with a slow mph. a friend of mine said that it could be the ACT, but my question is how do you test, or what are some warning signs. Also how long does the ACT usually last ?

Mike8675309
07-16-2003, 01:35 PM
Should last a while.

Here is a chart if you want to try and measure it to see how accurate it is:

blksc
07-16-2003, 01:43 PM
Thanks. do i just hook a voltmeter up to it ?

91BLOWNSC
07-16-2003, 01:45 PM
Wouldn't it throw a code if the ACT sensor was bad? Or am I way off in left field.

blksc
07-16-2003, 01:50 PM
Thats what i was thinking. But when i scan my car the only code i get is "Insufficent rpm change" which makes me think my tach or some component that tells the computer where the tach is , is busted.

blksc
07-16-2003, 01:51 PM
is that im getting a slight 'popping' from the exhaust to which i think is the car missing, and my tach does not travel on a smoothe arc around the tach, it kind of jumps but not huge jumps from 1000 to 3000 small jumps like 1200 to 1300

J57ltr
07-16-2003, 02:51 PM
Originally posted by blksc
Thats what i was thinking. But when i scan my car the only code i get is "Insufficent rpm change" which makes me think my tach or some component that tells the computer where the tach is , is busted.


That means that you didnít goose the throttle when you were doing the test.

You can use a multi meter to test the sensor. Set it to ohms and read the resistance when the engine is cold run the engine for a while and shut it off then unplug the sensor and place each lead from the meter to the 2 connection points. Refer to the chart that Mike posted.

blksc
07-16-2003, 02:55 PM
Heres the scary thing.. I did goose it.

J57ltr
07-16-2003, 03:42 PM
Blksc with what you are describing I would think your problem is the cam sensor.

If the ACT temp is too high then the EEC will pull some timing. If it is bad it still might not throw a code. Do the test you have the information you need. If you are running 14.9 on a stock (or just a couple of mods) late model you are right where you should be.

Jeff

blksc
07-16-2003, 06:30 PM
Well its worth a shot, i'll swap out the cam sensor. There could also be issues with fuel delivery but i'll find out when i run on the dyno

blksc
07-16-2003, 06:39 PM
when im testing this act sensor, where do i put the positive lead of the meter ?

J57ltr
07-16-2003, 06:48 PM
If you are measuring resistance it doesn't matter.

You will have a hard time measuring voltage because you will have to punch through the insulation and that can cause you problems down the road. But if you HAVE to do it that way then the black goes to ground and the red goes to one of the other wires if you get 0 volts try the other wire.

Jeff