Detailed cooling fan question!!? HELP!!

duanemyhre

I have thoroughly searched the cooling problems area and cant find the info I need.

The fan motor works. High, Low speeds(I hot wired it) and I changed both temperature sensors. The A/C plug is disconnected because of the compressor is froze up.

ECU, ECT�c where are these and how do I check them. I think the IRCM is behind the passenger headlight (big box with about twenty wires coming out of it?! The wires don�ft seem to match the fan wires.

I have a simple light probe, and I have BASIC knowledge about electronics. Can anyone tell me how to diagnose the ECU, ECT, and IRCM? This #14 wire stuff doesn�ft work for me. My wires have colors�cnot numbers. My book for the car is SH**!

I don�ft have a code reader, but I am willing to go purchase a multimeter if I need to. My high speed fan kicked on in-between the M and the red until I changed the two wire sensor. After changing the sensor, the engine temp got up to just past M, and I shut it off. I don�ft like stressing my engine like that.

Anyones help would be greatly appreciated! In simple English!

Thanks,
Duane

Well, the ECT (Engine Coolant Temperature Sensor) is the two wire coolant sensor, which I believe you are referring to. The coolant sensor with only one wire is the sending unit for the gauge in your instrument cluster, it has nothing to do with the cooling system (other than provide the gauge with a reading).

I believe that you're talking about the EEC (aka computer, PCM, brainbox, etc), when you mention the ECU. It is located in the passenger side kick panel of the car, and monitors and controls many functions.

The IRCM should be behind the passenger side headlight, as you said. I believe that my 94 has around 24 wires going into it.

It really sounds that your fans are working properly, and that you're just experiencing the high turn on temps for the fans. That can be changed with a chip.

-Rod