New way of icing down engine when drag racing.

Mike Puckett

SCCoA Member
All year I've been carrying bags of ice to the drags with me everytime I go to help cool it off between rounds. Filling up zip lock bags of ice and laying them on the blower top and IC is a little messy. So, being an engineer I've come up with a new method. I recently got some gel packs from my son that you freeze and put in a cooler instead ice. He got them from the Honey Baked Hams store. They sell them for a $1 each, they're cheap. I put one of my spare blower tops in the freezer and layed the gel pack on top and let it freeze to the shape of the blower top. I've got about 7 or 8 of them frozen now. Now I can lay one on a hot blower top and it form fits for good heat transfer. I also froze some flat for the IC. I tried it the other week and it worked better than the ice. The one for the IC was able to be used twice, once on each side. You can even tape it in place for the race without having to worry about dripping water on the track. You can easily put a metal tube or any other part in the freezer, form the gel around it, and freeze it to the proper shape to mount on the car. With a bag of ice in the cooler these things will stay frozen for days. Also, if the plastic bag the gel's in gets punctured the gel doesn't come out, it only weeps a little water. Dry it off and slap a piece of clear cellophane packing tape over the hole to reseal it.

I've used those on my truck at the track to cool the fuel rails between races. The fual rails on my truck get boiling hot, specially the front passenger side #2 cylinder which is last injector to get fuel.

WHAT TO USE

HAS ANYONE THOUGHT TO WRAP 3/8,S COPPER TUBING AROUND THE IC TUBES.....................COVER IT AND RUN A/C THROUGH IT TO COOL THEM DOWN......................FAST FREDDIE:cool: :cool: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: