Vibration When Accelerating

darkstar_one

hey,

as u people know i just installed my rebuilt transmission... i have a problem though.... when i step on the accelerator i get this nasty vibration and i dont know what it is... anybody have any idea... please let me A S A P im trying to get my SC back up and running

Just guessing that it DIDN"T do it before the rebuild, and a competent repair shop or mechanic rebuilt it. I am no trans expert and am just guessing here, but I would check for something hooked up wrong like the transmission mounts? U-joints gone bad? Motor to bell housing bolts tight? Is it stick or Auto? Torque converter or flywheel not bolted on right/tight? If you had someone do it, then take it back to who did it and have them check out.

Maybe a tranny expert will chime in here for ya...

PS. I get the same thing from my exhaust system rubbing or too close to something under there when I really reef on it.

Last edited:
well im thinking its probably some sensors ??? like the TPS or the IAC or something?? please somebody let me know

also its a AOD tranny...

Last edited:
couple of things

1] motor mounts
2] drive shaft

1] if you still have stock motor mounts ...they can be ripped apart if you don't support the back of the motor ...when replacing the tranny...note if bottom of oil pan is still above cross member...and oil filter is not rubbing on cross member

2] did you index the drive shaft ? ... when you took it apart at the diff..if not rotate it 180* note this vibration only if your driving ....dave

Could be wrong but IAC can be checked if you unlug while car is running, car should die. Also IAC sometimes makes dying goose sound upon shut off. TPS I THINK only controls fuel mixture for ECM, I THINK. I can't see how either will cause this problem. I have replaced both of these. One due to mechanic stupidity. OK it was me, I broke the TPS trying to get it off. I hate screws!

We need more info to try and help:
Did a shop or you rebuild tranny?