windows off track-1990 SC

Darkside

I just bought a 90 SC on Ebay for $2,125. The bird has 74,000 original miles on it (verified by carfax). It is in excellent condition except for the door windows, they are both off their tracks. Is this a simple fix. I am an general aviation mechanic so I am mechanically inclined so I can't see this as being to big of a deal. I haven't removed the panels yet because I just got the car yesterday. Is that a common problem? I've seen several advertised that said they had that same problem on one side or the other or both. Is it a recurring problem? I also hear alot made about head gaskets. Is it just the oem gaskets that blow and then you replace them with a higher quality aftermarket set and problem solved or do they repeatedly blow regardless of brand.

same problem

I alos have a 1990 thunderbird sc and my drivers side window keeps coming off track because the little plastic pieces that hold the window in place brake its kind of a pain in the but because you dont have much room to work

This is a common problem and an easy fix. Ford even had a TSB about it. The windows are attached to the track with plastic clips that are glued to the window glass. The clips have a stud molded into each of them and a corresponding nut makes the attachment through holes in the track.

To fix here you go.