super charger noise

Ty Whutaker

i am new to the super charger, so i need to know how much noise it makes. i can hear it chatter when i am in the car. am i ready for new bearings? [120k miles]
ty

all the experts will show up with the best answers but I'd say time for a rebuild, mine chatters a bit too and I'm gonna rebuild

Typically no you should not hear "chatter" inside the car.

Before you start ordering bearings though, you might want to check the fluid level in the SC. There's a filler plug in the front of the SC body that takes an allen wrench. The fluid should be just up to the bottom of the opening.

Lee

The chattering is caused by either bad bearings in the snout or a bad coupler, specifically if it is an early supercharger with the spring loaded coupler. Either way, if its making noise, it will need to be rebuilt eventually. Many will argue that adding fluid if its low is all you need to do, however, if it is low on fluid, it had to leak out somewhere and the damage is already done. You may get another 15,000 miles out of it or you may get 15, but rest assured, if you keep driving it without fixing it, when the time comes to have it repaired, it will be more expensive to fix than if you fix it now.

Paul

I'm with Paul on this one. However, the older style solid couplers are prone to wear also, and can cause blower chatter too.

The likelihood is that your snout seal failed, resulting in a loss of lube in the blower. You should be able to tell if that is the case by grimy black deposits under the snout near the pulley, or a wet mark on the hood blanket (if your car still has one installed) right inline with the pulley and belt. Depending on how long the car has been run with low fluid in the snout, you're best to have the snout rebuilt at least, including a new snout seal, a new coupler, and some fresh blower fluid.