what is the mystery switch?

SCandelous95

I don't claim to be a SC knowledgeable guru but im no SC newbie either.

After pulling some fuses from my kickpanel tonight, i noticed just below the kick panel, on the plastic side panel to the left, by the hood release, a small silver switch that flips left and right and a black push button right next to it. They are very small and non discreet, but I have never noticed or seen them before....how did i miss these the whole time I had my car? Is it a factory thing or something installed afterwards....

I feel kind of silly asking, but its driving me crazy not knowing. anyone know what I'm talking about?

It's for an aftermarket alarm.

The switch is for putting it into Valet mode.

The button is for disabling the alarm in case you lose the remote.

Jeff

sc

hey dean, havent talked to ya in a while, do u have your SC back up and running again? love to see it out there on the streets,
-damon

Jeff

i know its been awhile. Jeff, I played with the switch and button for awhile to try get my alarm working but to no avail. That was with the car off, the other night, while at a stop light, i pressed it again, and flipped the switch. To my surprise, when I got out of my car and used my remote lock, my alarm worked again! I guess maybe the engine needed to be on?? I don't know, all I know is that it worked.

thanks for the tip and now i not only have my alarm working, but i know what the mystery switch is for. Just wanted to say 'much appreciated!'

Damon,