PDA

View Full Version : AOD experts? mysterious metal in the pan?

Ripper
02-06-2004, 08:14 PM
I bought a used AOD trans to swap into my 89. The guy said it should be good since he pulled it himself from a wreck to save for a rainy day.. Couple of years later the rainy day never came and he sold it to me. It appeared to have had a recent rebuild, since it was stamped 1999 on a newer looking biltron torque converter. It sat for a while on the floor of a garage with the filler/dipstick hole wide open so things could have fallen in I guess.

Anyhow, I put it in the car and dropped the pan to find some black soot and some silver filings along with about 10 pieces of a thin metal about 1/4" by 3/8"

The pieces look like the fins of a radiator kinda compressed (folded flat on top of each other). They are all of similar size and shape

Im not an AOD expert but was wondering what the heck these pieces could be? Im thinking something from the torque converter perhaps.

It does drive but I only just moved it a couple feet since the trans line broke while swapping tranny's

Parker Dean
02-07-2004, 01:07 AM
Sounds like the springs from a sprag (AKA one-way clutch).

Any significant metal found in a trans pan is not good news and warrants a teardown for inspection.

You can try and run it since it's already in and see what happens. If it works, then cool, but I'd be having the backup plan ready at hand.

Ripper
02-07-2004, 10:09 AM
Thanks, do you know what the symptoms of a bad sprag would be?

It would be a full teardown to check it right?

Ripper
02-07-2004, 12:06 PM
Screw it, I took the old one that would shift passed 2nd down to the Cottman man. he says $500-700 for it to be rebuilt in 2 days (got a 1300 mile trip to go on next weekend so I cant risk it.)

I told him to give me the "good stuff" extra clutches and the best servos.

Ripper
02-09-2004, 10:28 PM
Originally posted by Ripper
Thanks, do you know what the symptoms of a bad sprag would be?