My car is sucking gas like crazy!

aitkenstyle

Guys i need help. ill go put a half a tank in my sc and drive it, now when i say drive it i dont drive it alot here and there around you know.. well ill put a half tank in and it'll be almost gone when i get home from school the next afternoon. I dont drive it that hard either.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what could be wrong? This gas is KILLING me! and being a sophomore in highschool doesnt help becasue i dont have much money.

My dad said that the fuel pump is brand new.. so i assume that doesnt have anything to do with it.

ANY help at all will help me out a great deal because I need to get this strightend out..

Thanks guys.

Mitchell

What up!!! im a sophomore in HS too. ha ive got a better one for you, i have a 85 f150 beater that i have to drive while my car is down and i have to fill one tank up about every 4-5 days and it is in perfec condition hahaha. i feel your pain, 45 bucks a week on gas is murder to a 16 year old. and insurance sucks too. good luck with your SC. one quick thing do you have a CEL light? ive heard that if 02 sensors go out that that will cause bad gas milage but i wouldnt think that bad. thats the only thing i know of, any way see ya

cool thanks for the help man... Ill check out the 02 sensor stuff.. my winter beater WAS a 2nd generation integra.. but when the trans axles went out and had some valve problems it kinda just sits in the driveway now.

having the same goal and both being a sophomore in hs is pretty crazy. the best thing is having the fastest car in the parking lot and its stock heh.

about the CEL light... not exactly sure what that is? I'll do a search on it i dont know much about electronics like that i jsut know whats in the engine lol.

try to keep it under 4 pounds of boost thats when mine goes in to open loop, the cold weather uses a lot of fuel under boost , every 10 degrees colder is 10 % more power so prob 10% MORE FUEL ALSO