Acceleration Issues

90CougarXR7SC

Looking for help. When it's warmed up it diesels or pings at approx 2500 rpm's. Good Fuel, and oil pressure. Runs great when cold at all rpm's. Does anyone have any ideas on this as I am new to these cars. :confused:

mine pinged when the egr hose melted the transducer its about dead center on back of intake behind the supercharger , some models dont have egr
you could also try colder thermostat and colder spark plugs

Last edited:
Bad fuel? Fill it with the highest octane you can find and add a bottle of injector cleaner. EGR problems and vacuum leaks will cause pinging. Good Luck

Ok, time for the stupid questions...What and where is the DIS module? The EGR appears fairly new (from the outside). There is a hose between the transducer and the EGR off the back of the intake pentium, with a downward pipe, no hose is connected (approx 3/8 diam). Also the rubber hose from the airbox to the throttle body has a fitting just infront of the right shock tower on the bottom, the hose is missing. Any idea where they should go to? Thanks for all the helpful feedback so far!!!!

The DIS module sits on top of the Air Conditioner...its gray and looks like a rectangle...also says DIS Module on the face of it I beleive.

-Tim

Pretty tough to see the EGR hoses...I deleted mine on both my 90 & 94 and each of them had bad hoses that were worn and cooked/weather checked...

Good luck

Brad

intake hose tube