PDA

View Full Version : if anyone needs bodywork advice, I can help

John68
03-17-2004, 10:33 PM
I logged onto this forum and really totaly forgot to introduce myself, or offer anything of worth to you guys.

Hi, I am John Phillis, and I am a full time autobody technician/frame repair/custom chassis builder/ auto restorer.
If anyone is in need of advice on painting, or doing any of the bodywork on your car, please ask, I will help.

You guys have been extremely honest and polite to me, and there are not a lot of other forums out there, like this one.

If anyone needs anything, I can help. I have been building cars since 1996 and have been an auto body technician since 94. Ten years and counting...

I specialize in the extraordinary, and focus on meticulous detail. I would love to help those who have a wounded bird, in need of some "do it yourself" autobody work. There is absolutely nothing you can't do in your home garage, that professionals would do to yoru car, if you were to take it in for bodywork.

THe skills aren't that hard to learn, you just need to be steered in teh right dorection,a nd I would love to help. I have written many bodywork FAQ's on other boards, and I would be glad to do the same here.

Just let me know if I can be of some assistance, and once again I thank you for your kindness.

JAFO
03-17-2004, 11:30 PM
That's a great offer John, thanks--and welcome.

The only thing that really irks me about my car is a large, deep scratch (think screwdriver maybe) that the previous owner painted over with touch up paint. It's better than a scratch, but it stands out (to me) in that it's rough looking. Fortunately, it's out of line of sight since it's low on the car. Is wet sanding an option or other technique, or would that endanger the surrounding paint too much? Also, any good tips on spot touch ups so that doesn't happen in anything I might do (rock dings etc). Sometimes touch ups stand out more than the ding.

Andy 94SC
03-17-2004, 11:41 PM