Quick acceleration= misfire or jerk

Chicago SC

My '91 SC just started to misfire or run rough when i get on the gas. If I drive it normal, it runs perfect. But once I really get on the gas, it will start to drive erratic. From 50 MPH or so, I can accelerate almost to the floor with no or little miss. But from a dead stop or when slowing down from a turn, it misses qiute bad when I punch it. The quicker I hit the gas the worse the shake. If i accelerate to WOT gradually, its okay or misses slightly at higher RPMs if anything. However, I can rev it to near redline in park or neutral without any misfire at all. Also it sometimes has a rough time finding idle when started up. this happens about 10% of the time, but it never completely dies. Could a clogged cat or muffler do this? how about a loose or frayed wire in DIS area? I'm stumped........... please help....
Thanks
--Chicago SC--

This is a bit hard without actually beign able to drive it. I'm a bit new to the SC world, so won't comment on whether this is typical of the ECU or anything else. But, in the old engine world, I'd say that it's bad plugs or wires. When were the plugs changed last? I understand that the plugs are difficult to change, so you should wait to hear from other veterans if this is a typical SC problem. Sorry I couldn't help more.

Regards,
John

90% of the time it can be caused by bad spark plugs and wires. When was the last time you changed yours?

Ignition is the first thing I would guess too, plugs and wires. Of course, in our ignition, the DIS and coil pack could also be at fault, but there are simpler problems to eliminate first.