Vibration when in drive and reverse

quick35th

My 91 SC vibrates a little when it is put in drive or reverse. It goes away as soon as I give it gas. When it is in either drive or reverse it idles around 500rpm, and when it is first put into gear it sometimes drops below 500rpm and comes back up. Could it be my IAC or is it tranny related?

Also sometimes the tranny shifts hard into OD and has 163K on it.

Thanks!
Shane

The engine doesn't shake at idle at all. I just changed the oil in it last night and looked at the motor mounts. I am no expert with them but I can discribe what I saw. They looked intact and the black paint or whatever it is on the outside was pealing off of both of them.

Any ideas?
Shane

hey quick35th, i seem to have the same problems going with my tbird. Im not to sure what it could be. I do know that i replaced the Harmonic Balancer and the Tranny and It seemed to be cool b/f all those. I also put in a dual ic. Ive been thinkin it maybe some kind of vacume seal with the ic but im not sure on that one. It idles fine in P but when you put it in d or r it drops idle and starts a vibration that i to can feel through the stearing wheel somewhat. Ive done some research and was thinkin it maybe my IAC. Havent checked that. Also, lots seem to blame a similar problem on broken motor mounts, even though i dont know how that may cause this vibration. So my thinkin its a vacume leak, bad IAC or maybe a mount. Need to put some more effort towards diagnosting my problem but when i saw this its the same thing so i though would add my .02. What mods have you done latly? When did it start vibrating? After a certain mod? or has it been that way for a while and your not to sure? I want to figure this out b/c its kindof lame sitting at idle in d and having it sound like its going to cutout or somethin. Its a terrible idle. Maybe i need a chip??? Thanks for all help. Zach