Harmonic balancer tech. help

b0coat01

Would there be any problems if I bought a cheap autozone balancer (reg. V6) and had it machined to be zero balance as well as the crank pulley...
I read something about removing the old pins from the balancer and installing them into the new zero balanced harmonic balancer, but wouldn't this throw it of zero balance? Thanks Guys!

Yeah, you are correct that it will throw it out of "zero" balance as an assembly, but it will put it in correct balance with "your" engine. I am no expert, though.

How much would the balancer from Autozone cost you? You can acquire a new factory SC balancer from fivestarford.com for $150. If the difference in cost is not great, this would likely be your best option.

Do a search, there are a lot of threads on this. When you buy your new balancer it should come with a pulley, and should be balanced. Those pins are to balance the balancer to the pulley not the engine. You should not have to add any pins.
As far as using a N/A v6 balancer, I don't think it would work. The SC balancer has a hall effect ring on the back that the N/A does not.

Last edited:
Those pins are to balance the balancer to the pulley not the engine.

I think your wrong about that...the pins are added at the factory only to those engines that needed them for balancing the engine. If your not rebuilding and rebalancing the engine and are just replacing the stock dampner, the pins should be transferred over to the new balancer.

That is why no pins come with the new OEM balancer and pulley assembly.

David

I hope I'm not wrong. My old balancer had 2 pins and I just installed a zero balanced BHJ and aluminum pulley. No sign of vibration.
Most of what I've read leans toward the pins being for the pulley not the engine. It's my understanding that the 3.8 is internally balanced.