PDA

View Full Version : Transmission Fun!?

acb92sc
04-18-2004, 10:36 PM
Well, my tranny decided it just didnt want to go on any longer. On my 2-3 shift, i let out the clutch and.... nothing. Just seemed like it was in neutral. So down it came. Such a joy. Input shaft now resides in two different places: Front half in the flywheel, back half in the tranny. 7 hours later and one of the other trannys is back in. But heres my real point; Why are my gears grinding only occasionally, especially in the 2-3 shift. Did it in the old tranny and the new one. Sometimes it shifts like a dream, others, that lovely noise we all dread and no gear grabbing for me. i have a new master and slave cylinders, hydraulic line, and a Spec Stage 2 clutch. B&m Ripper currently resides up top. Clutch is fully bled, can see the pressure plate being fully depressed. Any ideas before my next tranny bites the dust?

RedSCSpeedster
04-18-2004, 11:13 PM
paul here, did you put in a new pilot bearing in, and did you use a brass or ballbearing type, i found that the ballbearing type can cause problems, some times it will cause input shaft to keep turening, like the cluch was not disengaged

acb92sc
04-18-2004, 11:17 PM
unfortunately the ballbearing type. can u get the brass type from local parts stores or do have to order one? who carries them for ordering?

RedSCSpeedster
04-18-2004, 11:48 PM
You can get one from your local parts store or trans shop..

scbird1
04-19-2004, 12:11 AM
You should have got a new brass one with your spec 2 clutch kit. I did

acb92sc
04-21-2004, 11:22 AM
No new one with clutch kit, thought it odd, but went and got bearing type from Autozone. Called SPEC and they told me their kits dont have one. Frankly, Im incredibly displeased with this whole thing, their service, etc. And by the way, how heavy is your clutch pedal to push? mines stiffer than a priest in a boyscout troop. (haha). i have to get this fixed-- my car is getting to be a chore to drive rather than fun.

scbird1