ARP head studs vs. torque to yield - madness

89psychobird

I am beginning to lose sleep over this issue. I have never been led in the wrong direction by listening to the majority of the people on these forums, but, I am starting to re-think my decision on buying the ARP head studs.

I am no engine builder, this is a slightly modified daily driver, and this is my first time this deep into an automotive engine. I have asked a few knowledgable gearheads that I know about using ARP studs on aluminum heads. Between what they have said and what I have read online (not on SCCOA), torque to yield bolts are they way to go (if torqued properly). Due to the fact that Aluminum expands more that steel when heated, the stretch of the bolts always keeps an even clamping force between the heads and the block.

If the ARP studs don't stretch like the bolts do, wouldn't this cause a kot of stress on the heads of a hot engine and possibly crack the heads.

Please feel free to reply, I need to make the "right" decision in a few days when I get my heads back from the machine shop.

ARP's

I'm just past the same place you are. 95 SC, replaced HG's myself, first time into an engine this deep, etc. etc.

In the years that I've been following this board, I have not heard anyone reccomend ANYTHING other than ARP's. I put them on my SC, and other than not reading the 'slight modification required for proper fitting of exhaust manifold' They work well.

If I had to do another rebuild, I'd use the same thing. Again, I'm just a shadetree, at best.. but those are my $.02

Chris

manifold mods?

Chris,

what mods are required for the ARP stud install.??...I am rebuild a SC crate motor with only 35k or so that some guy toasted the #2 piston [plugged injector, my guess] rest of the motor looks sweet, but having built BB Olds
since 1980, The TTY head bolts make my stomach gurgle...so ARP to the rescue....

BTW, found some laser cut steel .020 steel spacers for the 3.8 motor