Easy (I hope) thermostat q.

bauble

So I'm about to replace the thermostat in my '93 SC and it occurs to me that while this sounds like an easy job, I've never done it before and I thought I'd ask if anyone can offer any hints or tips for a relatively unskilled newbie. Buddies I've talked to (shadetree mechanics) tell me this should be pretty straightforward, but think I may have to take off part of the supercharger.

If anyone can offer words of wisdom, they would be greatly appreciated.

bauble

its pretty straight forward--not much to take off
make sure you clean the gasket mating surfaces real well and be sure you
have the right gasket-match it up
also this will be a great time to flush the cooling system and put in new coolant
also you may want to use a 180degree thermostat
g/l

Why are you replacing it? You might check the old one when you get it out to see if its opening properly. I fought a..what i thought was warmer than normal..running condition and weird acting temp gauge for awhile. Finally ended up putting a new radiator in. That helped it, but SC's do run warmer, naturally. Others here can give a more technically experienced opinion.

You don't have to take off the supercharger. I usually take off the belt tensioner for the serpentine belt, it helps. Then I put a little loctite on the t-stat to hold it to the housing, let it dry. Then line up the gasket and put the bolts in, that way you don't have to worry about the t-stat sliding down.

It's not hard. It takes me about 45 minutes since I make my own gaskets out of gasket paper.

Get a factory t-stat from Ford for 2 reasons. 1 it turns and locks into position. 2 it has a weep hole that ends up on top to help bleed air from the system. Get yourself a manual. good luck