Engine Swap

Crazyzer

Hey guys im new to this fourm, im sorry if this has been asked before i tryed useing the search but didnt find what i was looking for. I have a 96 V6. and i was wondering if you can take a SC from a 95 and put it onto this engine? if not do you know of anyone who makes one to fit it. also what would be involded with swaping this engine for a 95 SC (engine, ecu, Tranny?) or maybe a 4.6 or 5.0 but id prefer the SC. thanks

With alot help, I had a 90 SC engine swapped into my 91 LX. Here's a rundown of what was swapped on my T-Bird:Engine, transmission, driveshaft, rear end, converted to rear disc, some wiring harnesses, and EEC, along with having a few new wires ran.

Whether you go SC or 4.6/5.0, I HIGHLY recommend having full acess to a donor car - that way, you have all the harnesses and stuff that you may need. But it should fit since it's still a 3.8L engine.

-Andy "Melon"

Rear end? what dose this consite of? is it nessacary to convert to rear disk break (suggested obviously) Also i forgot to mention this If i go about doing all this work i might as well just swap it to a 5 Spd while im at it. (ive done a auto to 5 spd swap before on a 00 Ford Zx2 so im fimilar with that process, and swaping the engine and tranny would provide most the parts cept shifter/linkage and clutch) Also melon how much did you end up paying for these parts?

I advise atleast going to a Super Coupe 8.8 rear end. It's not necessary but highly suggested since you'll be putting out more power. Rear end = where the gears are at... that pumpkin looking thing between the rear axles :D

Converting to rear disc isn't necessary, but like you said - recommended. I had wanted to swap and so that was just a good opportunity. Something else that was changed that I highly recommend is fuel pump. I went to a 255lph pump, but you can probably get away with a 190lph. At that time, I wasn't sure how far my modding would eventually take me so I just went with a 255.