Automatic tranny problems

aajjrich

My wife just bought me a 1990 sc and it has a little tranny problem. When I am in park it will shift into any of the gears, but it won't shift into third when in drive or overdrive. If I start in drive and bump it up into overdrive it jumps into neutral. The guy that sold the car to us said that it was fine until he started "messing with some wires by the throtle linkage." If anyone can point me in the right direction with this problem it would be a big help. This is my first time dealing with tranny problems.

Jay

He might have messed with the TV cable. If its out of ajustment it could have fried the trans. Do a search under TV cable to find out how to ajust it.
Make sure your trans fluid level is right on and dose not smell burnt. Should be bright red.

Be Carefull!!!!!!!!

scbird1 said:
He might have messed with the TV cable. If its out of ajustment it could have fried the trans. Do a search under TV cable to find out how to ajust it.
Make sure your trans fluid level is right on and dose not smell burnt. Should be bright red.
Read "AOD tranny experts"
many posted methos are not safe. You must use a pressure gauge to check the adjustment throught the TV port on the tranny..

good luck...

tv cable

I think I have a broke tv cable. The retainer clip was missing so I replaced it but the I can see the cable inside the plastic cover and when I move the throttle linkage the cable doesn't do anything. It looks to me as if something is missing. I have never messed with this before so I am learning as I go. I attached pics

Attachments

• S1010037.jpg
    S1010037.jpg
    81.7 KB · Views: 100
  • S1010034.jpg
    S1010034.jpg
    61.7 KB · Views: 91
Don't drive it until you get that fixed, even if you have to use duct tape. I hate to sound pessimistic, but with the problems you've been having, it may have already damaged the tranny.