Oil Oil and more OIL

Tony SC

undefinedOil :( Hi all,newbie here, just bought my first ford and what a start. I have a
1990 super coupe 5spd. i have an oil leak from hell. It is running all the way down part of the exaust. Mainly at or around the oil pan. The car was fine when i bought it. I got the oil changed put 5w30 in and that is when the leak began. It was 1 week later when the engine went almost dry even after 4 quarts that i put in durring that week. Help Please, any one have this problem? Could it be the rear crank bearing? synthetic oil prior, some censor or lines that are notorius for going. Thank you for any help.

Last edited:
My guess is that your motor mounts are bad and allowed the engine to sit lower and rub a hole in the oil pan. Yours wouldn't be the first car it's happened to.

David

Other common leaks are the valve covers, the oil pressure sending unit (just above the oil pump) and the pan where the high pressure power steering line runs under the pan (as Dave mentioned).

Jeff

Are you sure they tightened the oil filter when they changed it. I've also heard of the oring from the old filter getting stuck on the filter head and when the new filter is installed it doesn't seal properly. Since the oil is under pressure going thru the filter it could leak pretty bad.

David

J57ltr said:
Other common leaks are the valve covers, the oil pressure sending unit (just above the oil pump) and the pan where the high pressure power steering line runs under the pan (as Dave mentioned).

Jeff

Any idea of the oil pressure sending unit would run oil over the exhaust manifold. and burn off?.. or would that just be the valve cover gasket

Karl

Probably not likely, there is a cover over the body of the sender and it usually leaks under there and runs down the oil pump area. I had this happen and thought the oil pump was leaking. I couldn't see the leak either I ended up removing the sender and plugging it with a 1/8" NPT plug before I found the leak.