Super Coupe dies at stop lights

keithw

Hi guys. I am brand new to this site as you can see. I am brand new to Fords. I am actually a Mopar guy with a few old Mopes. To give some symptoms of this deal, here we go...

Warmed up or cold. Does not matter
A/C on/off does not matter

This thing can come to a stop light and idle fine. The other day we had not started this car in a year. It fired right to life with a new battery. I changed the oil and everything else. It idled in the driveway for I bet an hour while we washed her and waxed her. It never even ran hot. Dead center on the temp guage. Today, we actually got new plates for it and drove it on the street. It ran just fine. We got 4 miles form here,and it dies at a stop light. It ran fine, going down the road, check engine comes on, then goes right back out. Next stop light, she is fine. Engine light flashes on and off, the idle kicks to 1200 rpms from its normal 700 rpms.

The car ran good up until her stepfather changed the water pump . This was 2.5 years ago. He is a very solid mechanic and has been around the block a time or two with cars. Something happened during the water pump swap.

Now, I hate to make this long, but I need to say one more thing. When you shut this motor off, it makes a hiss down after the engine is stopped. I can almost tell you it is coming from around the intake tube and where it goes into the intake form the intercooler. But I can't swear by this. It is hard to tell. Maybe it is just vacuum form the wastegate??? What are some ideas here guys. I found a ticket from the dealership that they replaced two parts a long time ago.
Here are the parts...
FMC# F1SZ 12A297 B # ctrl asy ign multip
FMC# E98Z 12A112 A Stator Asy- (hall Eff

That is the exact way it is printed on this.Thanks, Keith