Heads are off - What should I See

micksix

I had blown headgasket's on my 1993 SC. I just pulled the heads off and I'm not sure what I should see or rather what I should be concerned about. Before I started, I verified that there was no oil in the coolant and no coolant in the oil. Now that the heads are off, I see quite a bit of antifreeze. Is this normal? My main concern is if it can get into the lower part of the engine like this? I just don't want to waste time and effort on the heads if the lower part of the engine is toasted, this is my first time changing hg's. I was also concerned about the cylinders appearance, looks kinda crappy. Not what I expected! I've attached some photos for opinions, please help :eek: Thanks

MickSix :confused:

Attachments

• Camera Download 073.jpg
    Camera Download 073.jpg
    47 KB · Views: 130
  • Camera Download 076.jpg
    Camera Download 076.jpg
    57.1 KB · Views: 140
  • Camera Download 072.jpg
    Camera Download 072.jpg
    52.3 KB · Views: 122
  • Camera Download 082.jpg
    Camera Download 082.jpg
    47.6 KB · Views: 113
coolant will get into the cylinders once you pull the heads. Whatever was stuck in the coolant ports as well as the intake will leak out once you break the seals. I'd used a paper towl and just mopped up everything in the bores as well as the lifter valley. A little coolant is normal just cause it spilled from the heads. Wipe it up before it gets down to the lower end. Make sure you changed your oil before start the car again. Then i would change it after a few hours run time, so make sure nothing else comes out. Better safe than sorry.