IC tape...VS...T-bird88 IC gaskets

Dahoopd

Just trying to get feeback. I bought the tape because I was told it seals better than the gaskets. Could be a sales pitch. Considering Im a rookie I figured I would try to get some feedback. Atleast updated feedback versus the search. Thanks for the help.

Dahoopd said:
Just trying to get feeback. I bought the tape because I was told it seals better than the gaskets. Could be a sales pitch. Considering Im a rookie I figured I would try to get some feedback. Atleast updated feedback versus the search. Thanks for the help.

I installed them on my lower intake plenum never has leaked. Totally satisfied with the gasket. I have bought other parts from him as well and totally satisfied

Ken

By all means get tbird88's gaskets. They seal just fine and can be taken apart and reinstalled many times. The tape is overpriced, one-time use only, and has a habit of getting out of place when installed(which ruins them so you can buy some more). If you ever use the tape and then switch to gaskets you will bless the day. John

Whoever told you the tape seals better was simply trying to sell tape. A bunch of people, including myself have used and are using those gaskets with great results.

The gaskets are made from a thicker version of the same stuff that teflon tape is made from for sealing pipe joints. So it has some crush to it that seals the tubes together.

As far as the tape goes, if you want a single use solution you can just use permatex copper RTV as well as anything else. It's just not reusable like the Gaskets from the www.texasthunderbirds.com gaksets are.

I've heard nothing but good things about Wynn (tbird88) and his gaskets. I bought a set not too long ago and got them the other day. I'm planning to put them on soon when I put my Double IC in (thanks Ken :D)

I know a few people that have used them and have been very happy with them.

-Andy "Melon"

Allrighty ....Then!