1989 SC-Restore? Junk???

greenehoosier

A quick intro. I am a 34 YO Teacher (Poli Sci, Econ, USH) from Southern Indiana. Married 12 years, three kids. Coach Basketball. I have a Berrien Warrior Sandrail with dual carbs and all the toys. A 1953 Ford Victoria, 1966 Mustang (2 owner,cali car) and the 1989 SC. I have built drag cars, road racers (SCCA) and customs for almost 20 years now. I just bought this car (the SC) from a former student ($500). It is an AT car that he had the tranny replaced in, it shifts weird now, though. I plan on doing the TV adjustment this weekend. It runs good- hard brake pedal, though ( will replace solenoid first thing). It has a crappy Cervini style hood (broken corners-anyone want to trade :) )
and the bumper covers are crap. Interior is not too bad- cracks in dash are the only real problems. I feel odd considering restoring a late model like this, but there are many pluses to this car. Modern, comfortable ride, disc brakes, power everything. Smooth, quiet. EFI, OD and a supercharger. I loved these cars when they came out back when I was in high school, restoring one would be nice. Are the pieces readliy available to return this thing back to a nice stock (mostly) car? The car is a bit rough, but the body is straight and there is no rust. Are all the suspension-brake-chassis parts still available? Are bumper covers (sc in middle) readily available new or used? This car seemed to be a good starting point, but, sometimes I am thinking I should part it out and use the engine in my rail. I would rather restore this car,but, there does not seem to be much aftermarket support for these things. I wonder how many have done a real restoration and how difficult it was as far as parts availability? Thanks for any direction.
Randy

I have a nice steel hood on my 90 SC. would be really intrested in a cervenni hood even if it needs work. Tim